Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Student Groups

BMEGS-SA (Biomedical Engineering Graduate Society at San Antonio)

Purpose: To represent the interests of biomedical engineering graduate students in the joint graduate program at UTSA/UT Health San Antonio; Primary goals of the BMEGS-SA are to: Promote professional and personal relationships among graduate students and faculty; Provide an outlet for voicing concerns; Contribute to the professional growth and education regarding research and industry careers and opportunities.

Leadership – BMEGS-SA Executive Board

Chair – Jose (JT) Trevino
Assistant (Vice) Chair – Savannah Heath
UT Health SA Representative – Xue Wei Wang
Treasurer – Sean Tritley
Communications Chair – Maria Del Mar Prado Gutierrez
MS Student Rep – Christian Gonzalez
Social Chair – Christian Mendiondo
Affiliate Chair – Luis Trabucco
Recruitment/Alumni Relations Chair – David Zhang
Faculty Advisors – Dr. Eric Brey and Dr. Jean Jiang

All BME graduate students are members of BMEGS-SA.

GAPS (Graduate Association for Pre-health Students)

Purpose: GAPS is a non-profit organization established for the purpose of providing members with resources to help strengthen their applications for professional schools in the future and establish a sense of community within the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences through social and volunteering services.


President – Sheryl Vu
Vice President for Academic Research – Maia Smith
Vice President for Clinical Research – Natalia Flores
Treasurer – vacant
Secretary – vacant
Network Chair – vacant
Mock Chair/Historian – vacant
Faculty Advisors – Dr. Chun-Liang Chen & Dr. P. Renee Yew


Graduate Student Association (GSA)

Purpose: Help with career development, organize social events for the graduate student body, and address key issues that have a direct effect on life as a graduate student.


  • President  –  Kate Tuite
  • Vice President  – Ben Stinson
  • Secretary – Jacob Essif       
  • Student Ambassador (Outreach Coordinator) – Asra Noor
  • Treasurer – Virgil Bideu
  • Faculty Advisor – Marcus Webster
GSIC group photo

Graduate Student International Club (GSIC)

Purpose: To best guide and assist the current and incoming international students by providing resources that allow them to successfully transition to life in the USA with the overall goal of improving and making a productive study atmosphere on campus.


  • President – Shiva Kazempour
  • Vice President – Francine Nihozeko
  • Treasurer – Bei Jia
  • Secretary – Ramya Barre
  • Faculty Advisor – Jessica Nute

IBMS Student Council

Purpose: The council meets monthly to discuss student or faculty concerns within the IBMS Graduate Program. The chair of the IBMS Student Council also attends IBMS COGS (committee on graduate studies) meetings as a student representative.


  • Chair - Mackenna Wollet
  • Reps – Sam Harrison, Claudia McCowan, Pragya Singh Malia, Anner Harris, Kevin Kanda
  • Faculty Advisors – Dr. Mike Burton & Dr. Renee Yew

SACNAS (The Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science)

Purpose: SACNAS is an inclusive organization dedicated to fostering the success of underrepresented scientists, from college students to professionals, in attaining advanced degrees, careers, and positions of leadership in STEM.


  • President – Claira Sohn
  • Vice President – Marisol Morales
  • Secretary – Paulino Ramirez
  • Treasurer – George Parra
  • Outreach Coordinator – Caitlyn Fastenau
  • Historian – N/A
  • Faculty Advisors – Dr. Kristin Cano

Science Policy Group of UT Health San Antonio (SPG)

Purpose: SPG is a student-led, non-profit, organization at UT Health San Antonio that has two major aims, to empower the scientific community at UTHSA to think outside the bench and facilitate the information exchange with policymakers, and the community in San Antonio.



  • President - Jacob Essif
  • Vice President - Cynthia Lu Schulz
  • Secretary - Jessica Johnson
  • Treasurer - Vacant
  • Liaison Manager - George Parra
  • Grants Manager - Jacob Essif
  • Public Relations Manager - Cynthia Lu Schulz

Student Government Association (SGA)

Purpose: To represent and unite all UT Health SA students; To provide for and enhance communication and interaction between the students of the five schools, the students and faculty, the students and administration, and the students and institutions of higher education throughout Texas; To further communication and relationships between UT Health SA and the community; To advise and assist the administration in reaching decision on policy that concerns the students of UT Health SA; To assist in broadening the intellectual, cultural, and recreational opportunities and capabilities of the student body; To assist the administration in the expenditure of Student Service Activity Fees and all other compulsory fees.



  • President 24-25 – Gregory Quiroz, SHP & SON (New ABSN Student - May 2024)
  • Vice President 24-25 – TyAnthony Jones, LSOM
  • Secretary 24-25 – Ediri Metitiri, GSBS
  • Treasurer 24-25 – Ryan Gallagher, LSOM
  • Director of Communication: Jasmine Bryson, SHP
  • Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Representatives – Jacob Essif, Shahad Abdulsahib, Jacob Buatti
  • Faculty Advisor – Analisa Davila and Austin Cervantes
WISDOM group photo outside ALTC

WISDOM (Women in Science: Development, Outreach & Mentorship)

Purpose: WISDOM is a non-profit organization for the purpose of providing professional development, mentorship opportunities, and support for women scientists at the University, as well as engaging future women scientists in the community through outreach.


  • President – Maria Fernandez
  • Vice President – Virgil Bideau
  • Secretary – Marium Begum
  • Treasurer – Prerna Sathish
  • Outreach Chair – Ashley Auerbach
  • Historian – Urmi Thaker
  • Faculty Advisor – Dr. Nute (interim)


Purpose: Unabridged will serve as a space for students at UT Health SA to learn how to engage in healthy inquiries on controversial topics in science, medicine, and policies.


  • President/Co-Coordinator – Kristen Duke
  • Treasurer/Co-Coordinator – Anne Wells
  • Secretary – Aaron Singh
  • Outgoing Coordinator/Member – Linh Pham