School of Health Professions

UT Health San Antonio, associate dean receive awards at ASAHP conference

ASAHP Award Ceremony


School of Health Professions Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs David Henzi, EdD, was inducted as a Fellow of the Association of Schools Advancing Health Professions (ASAHP) at its annual conference in October.

Henzi was one of five Fellows selected this year. Fellows are active ASAHP members whose selection is based on their contributions to the health professions through leadership, creativity and a record of publication in professional journals. Henzi has worked with the nominating committee, the Partnerships, Alliances, and Advocacy Committee, the ASAHP Leadership program and Texas Society for Advancement of Health Professions leadership. His efforts and “willingness to participate as needed were recognized by the Board” in his selection, said ASAHP President Deb Larsen, PhD, FAPTA, FASAHP.

“To be recognized by ASAHP as a Fellow was an unexpected honor,” Henzi said. “I look forward to continued participation in ASAHP and assisting the students and faculty represented by this outstanding organization.”

UT Health San Antonio and Winston-Salem State University earlier this year learned of their selection for the 2022 Award for Institutional Excellence and Innovation in Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Health Care. School of Health Professions Dean David Shelledy, PhD, RRT, RPFT, FAARC, FASHP, accepted the award on behalf of the university at the conference, where a poster presentation on UT Health San Antonio’s project, “Fostering institutional excellence and innovation in interprofessional education through collaboration,” was presented. Learn more about the award and UT Health San Antonio’s Linking Interprofessional Networks for Collaboration (LINC) project.

Shelledy also participated as a speaker on a panel titled “Insights Into the Future of Higher Education,” and School of Health Professions faculty from numerous programs presented on a range of topics at the conference, including:

  • Healing our future: developing leadership capabilities in allied health professionals: Associate Dean for Administrative Affairs Matthew Anderson, PhD, and Andrew Garman of Rush University Medical Center
  • Comparison of outcomes from in person to online IPE experience with medical and OT students: Henzi and Department of Occupational Therapy Program Chair Bridgett Piernik-Yoder, PhD, OTR
  • Improving communication with aphasic patients: interprofessional training of health care students: Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders Director of Clinical Education Angela Kennedy, SLP-D, CCC-SLP, Assistant Professor Catherine Torrington Eaton, PhD, CCC-SLP, and  Rebecca Moote of the College of Pharmacy, the University of Texas at Austin
  • Health professions program success following COVID-19 restrictions: Associate Dean for Research and Professor Timothy Reistetter PhD, OTR; Director of Academic Assessment and Compliance Venessa Kodosky PhD, MEd; Anderson and Shelledy
  • A comparison of student clinical experiences during COVID – how clinical coordinators saved the day: Henzi, Division of Medical Laboratory Sciences Assistant Professor and Director of Clinical Education Cordy Kudika, MA, CHS (ABHI), and Kodosky
  • Impact of COVID-19 associated online instruction on student learning in health professions courses: Shelledy, Kodosky, Anderson and Reistetter
  • Preventing repetitive stress injuries in medical imaging: Assistant Professor and Associate Director of the Bachelor of Science in Medical Sciences program Laura Vasquez, PhD, MS, RVT, RT, MRSO
  • Direct-entry degree into magnetic resonance imaging: Vasquez
  • Students' perspective on educational delivery of medical laboratory science programs during COVID-19: Clinical Assistant Professor Guillermo Nunez, MS, MLS (ASCP)CM
  • Poster presentation: Student perceived confidence in IPEC competencies increased after an IPE simulation experience: Department of Occupational Therapy Assistant Professor Mei-Ling Lin, PhD, and Clinical Associate Professor Autumn Clegg, EdD, OTR, School of Nursing Assistant Professor/Clinical Isabell Stoltz, DNP, MN, RN, CCNS, Assistant Professor/Clinical Kevin Voelker, JD, MN, RN, and Department of Physical Therapy Assistant Professor Bobby Belarmino, PT, DPT, PhD, CCS.

The School of Health Professions was a gold-level sponsor for the annual conference. Learn more about ASAHP and leadership awards given during the conference here.

Share This Story