School of Health Professions

SHP Students selected for Alpha Eta Society

Alpha Eta Society

By Kate Hunger 

School of Health Professions students and faculty were inducted this spring into the Alpha Eta Society, the national honor society for the allied health professions.

Because of COVID-19, the campus chapter has not held its traditional in-person ceremony. A virtual induction ceremony is being discussed as a possible alternative, said campus chapter president, Physical Therapy Associate Professor Martha Acosta, Ph.D., PT, GCS. 

“Its motto, “together we serve,” reflects the purpose of the society, which is to promote and recognize significant scholarship, leadership, and contributions to the allied health professions,” Acosta said. “I am honored to welcome our new inductees into the organization. They represent the leadership and caliber of academics that are upheld by Alpha Eta.”
To be eligible for membership in the society, undergraduates must earn at least a 3.5 GPA and show a capacity of leadership and achievement, while graduate students must have a 3.8 GPA and demonstrate the same leadership and achievement qualities.

The 2020 student inductees are:

EHS: Joseph Daniel Blahnik, Samantha McKenzie Williams, Nicholas James Martin, and Kyle Warren Strickland
MLS: Mara Althea Cabungcal and Alexa Soto
OT: Victoria Ramirez, Janna Roberts, Nicolette Gutierrez, Elizabeth Horne, Hannah Alspach, Sophie Briones, Donald Grant, Taylor Buchanan
PT: Brooke Baker, Ernesto Esqueda, Cole Hirschhauser, Carolyn Parker, Lisa Reitz, and Juan Robledo
RC: Marilyn Hernandez, Mahum Ijaz, Kathleen Floud and Mariana Castillo
SLP: Sydney Bourgeois, Madison Box, Audrey Gilmore, Kylee Kouba, Tammy Nguyen, Shannon Ratsch and Sofia Zapata
The following faculty members also were inducted into the society:

•    Clinical Assistant Professor Selina Morgan, PT, DPT, Department of Physical Therapy 
•    Assistant Professor Sandeep K. Subramanian, Ph.D., MS, BPT, Department of Physical Therapy
•    Assistant Professor/Clinical Thomas Stokes, Jr., MA, RRT, Division of Respiratory Care

Share This Story