Health Professions

SHP students inducted into allied health professions honor society

The Alpha ETA Society emblem

Fifty School of Health Professions students were inducted May 5 into the campus chapter of the Alpha Eta Society, the national honor society of the allied health professions.

The induction ceremony was held virtually, said chapter president and Associate Professor of Physical Therapy Martha M. Acosta, PhD, PT, GCS.

With the motto “Together we serve,’” Alpha Eta seeks to promote and recognize significant scholarship, leadership and service contributions to the allied health professions. The first Alpha Eta chapter was chartered at the University of Florida in 1975. Established in 2002, the UT Health San Antonio chapter is one of more than 90 university chapters with more than 35,000 members.

To be eligible for membership in the society, undergraduates must earn at least a 3.5 grade point average, and graduate students must earn at least a 3.8 GPA. All inductees must demonstrate leadership and achievement. No more than 20 percent of the graduating class of a program may be invited to join the society in an academic year, and a maximum of two students from programs of less than 10 students may be invited in an academic year.

2022 student inductees include:

Communication Sciences and Disorders: Ashley Buchalter, Samantha Choi, Ally Fleischhauer, Emily Garza, Valerie Ling, Katherine McGrail, Madelynn Patzner and Christina Robertson

Emergency Health Sciences:  Martin F. Graham and Michael L. Stringfellow

Medical Laboratory Sciences: Baiwei Chen, Madeline Cortez, Jesus Dominguez, Chai-In Lin, Darby Rice and Alana Rubio

Occupational Therapy: Brooke Baus, Paige Beeney, Christina Bittle, Amy Corral, Bridget Farrell, Monica Garcia, Emily Gregory, Jacqueline Johnson, Lydia Kayl, Bethany Kotzur and Cristina Martinez

Physical Therapy: Samantha Ayala, Emily Brown, Nicholas Dean, Nicholas Dennis, Frank Li, Gabriel Lopez, Katherine McCallie and Hyunsung Yoo

Respiratory Care: Michael Aguilar, Eman Alaroudi, Hayat Ata, Sydney Cosby, Jenny Estalilla, Chelsea Gloria, Elisa Gomez, Morgan Newton, Maricela Perez, Mayce Sadi, Sumeet Sidhu, Kelsie Stone, Kateryna Taliaferro, Adan Vega Zaragoza and Kamy Walck

Nine Physician Assistant Studies students were inducted into the society in the fall of 2021. They include: Shelbie Carr, Brittani Orme, Virginia Wixler, Karla Gracia, McKenzie Knapick, Sydney Laudwig, Rachel Mansker, Evan Bridges and Sarah Salzman.

The chapter includes approximately 20 faculty members. This year’s faculty inductee, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders Assistant Professor Casey Taliancich-Klinger, PhD, CCC-SLP, was inducted during the school’s spring faculty meeting on May 18.

Share This Story