School of Health Professions

Physical therapy professor elected vice president of TPTA

By Kate Hunger 

Michael Geelhoed, D.P.T., OCS, MTC, associate professor of physical therapy department, was elected vice president of the Texas Physical Therapy Association at its annual state conference in October. 

Geelhoed, who is also director of clinical education for the department, said he expects his three-year term will increase the PT program's visibility and enable him to serve as a role model for students. He also said he anticipates that the association will be involved issues of importance to the professions, including the perennial issue of the state requirement that patients obtain physician referrals for physical therapy. 

At the conference, Geelhoed delivered the Clinical Instructor Certification course and Martha Acosta, Ph.D., PT, GCS,  assistant professor of physical therapy department, presented a poster on the flipped classroom. Three physical therapy alumni also presented, including Adam Makel ('15), who presented on the treatment of the unilateral athlete, Tiffany Rockford and Elizabeth Garcia ('16), who co-presented on vestibular therapy in the acute setting. 

Selina Morgan, PT, DPT, adjunct instructor of the physical therapy department received the 2017 Dorn Long Outstanding Clinical Educator Award at the conference. Morgan was selected earlier this year to receive the award by the Texas Consortium for Physical Therapy Clinical Education. 



Share This Story