School of Health Professions

Health professions students inducted into Alpha Eta Society

Two Alpha Eta student inductees hold their certificates.


For Doctor of Occupational Therapy student Elise Gray, being inducted into the Alpha Eta Society with 37 other students represents the value of teamwork among the health professions.

“The induction ceremony signifies not just our individual accomplishments but also our commitment to the interdisciplinary teamwork that is at the heart of optimal patient care,” Gray said.

Alpha Eta members represent the top 20% of graduates of allied health schools and colleges. Students in the occupational therapy, physical therapy, speech-language pathology, respiratory care and medical laboratory sciences programs were inducted on May 2 — the first time the induction ceremony has been held in person since 2019, said Department of Occupational Therapy Chair and Professor and Bridgett Piernik-Yoder, PhD, OTR.

Inducted were:

Medical Laboratory Sciences: Karina Chapa, Michael Flores, Stephanie Molina Maldonado and Beverly Nystrom.

Occupational Therapy: Caitlyn Cottrell,  Chloe Freeland, Zachary Freeman, Samantha Gonzalez, Elise Gray, Kathryn Hiles, Kristen McKenzie and Emily Tate.

Physical Therapy: Dustin Brewer, JoAnthony Cabello, Ayub Jamshaid, Julie Kiser, Ashlyn Koslovsky, Gabriela Ruiz Lopez, Kirby Thames, Logan Voss and Amy Waldschmidt.

Respiratory Care: Karen Diaz, Mario Garcia Cruz, Samantha Burns, Rebecca Chen, Bethany Clemons, Vanessa Gonzalez, Samantha Garza, Kaleigh McClure, Sandra Quintero and Reyna Vizcaino.

Speech-Language Pathology: Stephanie Broussard, Lillian Endy, Jena Hermes, Abigail Johnson, Lindsay McLain, Rylan Ponthier and Sarah Thomas.

Physical Therapy Assistant Professor Gustavo Almeida, PhD, PT, also was inducted as a faculty member of the society.

Share This Story