School of Dentistry

2024 Predoctoral Convocation Awards

2024 Predoctoral Convocation Awards
Edward F. Wright, DDS, MS, professor, receives the Professor of the Year award from Jenny Qi, sophomore class president.


The School of Dentistry celebrated the accomplishments of its predoctoral dental students during the 2024 Predoctoral Convocation Awards at the end of April.

Stefanie Seitz, DDS, MEd, assistant dean for students and associate clinical professor in the Department of Comprehensive Dentistry, emceed the event, which recognized 27 individuals and presented over $31,000 in scholarship and award winnings.

The Alliance of Texas Dental Association presented dental students Sadie Campman, Tyler Childs and Emanuel De La Torre with endowed scholarships of $2,400 each in honor of their academic excellence and leadership efforts.

Anna Ye, third-year dental student, was presented with the UT Health San Antonio Ambassador Scholarship. This honor is given each year to one outstanding student from each of the institution’s schools. A scholarship in the amount of $5,000 was awarded to each ambassador. Ye will represent the dental student body and the university at numerous events throughout the 2024-2025 academic year.

On behalf of their respective classes, each class president bestowed the honor of Professor of the Year. Nikole Kramer, junior class president, praised John P. Hanlon, DMD, clinical assistant professor, on behalf of her class by saying, “Beyond being a kind and an exceptionally talented educator, his boundless patience and unwavering dedication never cease to astound us.” This is the second year in a row that Hanlon has been selected as professor of the year.

The sophomore class selected Edward F. Wright, DDS, MS, professor, as their awardee. “It’s one thing for a professor to indicate that they are ‘available to students’ on their syllabus and a completely different thing to find a professor that truly embodies the role of a compassionate, accommodating, and empathetic mentor,” said Jenny Qi, sophomore class president. This is the second year in a row that Wright has been selected as professor of the year. 

Freshman Class President Matthew Vasquez named Edward F. Wright, DDS, MS, professor, as his classmate’s pick for Professor of the Year. “You have shown us that being a good teacher goes far beyond just delivering lessons, it’s about being an exemplary human being worthy of emulation,” Vasquez said.

Other honors, awards and scholarships announced included:

  • Texas Dental Association (TDA) Smiles Foundation Scholarship: Jenna Eisel and Rachel Nicole Patrick
  • Richard H. Carr, Jr, DDS Endowed Scholarship: Leilani McDaniel and Niya Tabor
  • Edward G. Rennels and Vick Williams Award: Jenna Eisel and Madison Haager
  • Kramer Award: Anna Ye
  • Mu Nu Memorial Award: Tyler Childs
  • Outstanding Achievement in Academics: Hamsini Nathan
  • Outstanding Achievement in Research: Meilinn Tram
  • Outstanding Achievement in Service: Riley Risinger
  • Junior Clinic Award for Excellence in Clinical Dentistry: Emanuel De La Torre (GPG1), Megan Conlin (GPG2), Shelby Hawkins (GPG3), Niya Tabor (GPG4), Daniel Gomez (GPG5), Marcela Raquel Lacayo Espinoza (GPG6), Ahmad Humeidi (GPG7), Vy Tuong Lien (GPG8)
  • CACTUS Award: Nikhil Kalla
  • Pierre Fauchard Academy Dental Student Scholarship Award: John Talbot Fairbanks
  • Arthur T. Storey Scholar's Award: Jacob Robinson
  • Maria Yeung Student Research Award: Sydney Chung
  • Carus Dental Scholarship: Tyler Stevens

The School of Dentistry congratulates all the awardees for their achievements and commitment to excellence over the year.

Photos from the event can be found here.

Share This Story