Office for Academic, Faculty and Student Affairs

Presidential Teaching Excellence Awards


Teaching awards include the Presidential Teaching Excellence Awards -- distinctions which befit the best of our academic colleagues at The University of Texas Health Science Center. Any full-time or part-time (at least 80%) member of the faculty at the rank of instructor or higher, who has taught at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio for a minimum of the last three years and who has not been a recipient of this award within the last eight years, is eligible.


A candidate for the award may be nominated by any one of the following:

  • The dean or chair of an academic department.
  • At least two members of the faculty.
  • Three students, three residents, and/or three fellows.

The Nomination Form should be used in submitting names to the President's Office. Nominate faculty members who demonstrate excellence in (1) exhibiting personal qualities that promote student learning; (2) preparing outstanding teaching materials; and (3) overall dedication to teaching. The chair of each department is responsible for disseminating this information to faculty members in each academic department. Housestaff Coordinators are encouraged to join in the nomination process.


For information about the awards and form deadlines, call the Academic, Faculty, & Student Affairs (AFSA) office at 210-567-2004


Click on Nomination Form below:

For more information, please visit the following pages: