boy doing physical therapyThe Department of Physical Therapy at the University of Texas Health Sciences Center at San Antonio is fully accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE). The Master in Physical Therapy program was granted interim accreditation in 1995 and full accreditation in November 2000.


Planning for the Physical Therapy program began in the mid-1970s at The University of Texas at San Antonio where the Program was first housed. The first class of 18 students was admitted in June 1978, under the Chairmanship of Dr. Ray Patterson; they were awarded Bachelor of Science degrees in May 1980. In the same year, the Board of Regents approved funds to renovate space for the medically related allied health programs on the site of The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Faculty offices and the teaching laboratory were completed and occupied two years later. The Master of Physical Therapy program was initiated in August 1995.


man doing physical therapyIn May 1998, the Department of Physical Therapy moved into the new Health Professions/Research Building at 8403 Floyd Curl Drive, a few blocks from the main campus of the UT Health Science Center. The building offers state-of-the art technology for classroom and laboratory instruction, as well as the capability to provide distance education to sites throughout South Texas and beyond.


In July 2008, approval was granted to begin the Doctor of Physical Therapy program. The first full DPT class entered in the fall of 2008 while the second and third year students were offered the opportunity to take extra courses and clinical affiliations to earn their Doctor of Physical Therapy degree. The first Doctor of Physical Therapy degrees were conferred in the summer of 2009.