Jan. 18, 2002
Volume XXXV, No. 3

Calendar

Of Note


Home

Of Note


HealthWalk coordinators needed

The Health Science Center will host the 19th Annual March of Dimes HealthWalk for Healthier Babies at 11 a.m. Wednesday, April 3, at the UTHSC running track.

Each department/division should select a HealthWalk coordinator. The coordinators' names should be forwarded to Anna Uriegas, HealthWalk chairperson, at uriegas@uthscsa.edu by Friday, Jan. 25. The HealthWalk kick-off event for all coordinators will take place at noon Wednesday, Jan. 30, in room 1.284T.

Last year, UTHSC HealthWalk participants raised more than $25,000. Individual walkers and department teams who raise the most funds will be recognized for their efforts. Individual walkers are eligible to win prizes.

For more information, send an e-mail to Uriegas or call her at ext. 7-3769.


WFA seeks nominations for outstanding women graduate students

The Women's Faculty Association (WFA) seeks nominations for outstanding women graduate students at the Health Science Center. One nominee, who will complete her studies in May 2002, will be selected from each of the five schools. Nominees should exhibit leadership skills, have an acceptable academic record, and show involvement in extracurricular professional, service and teaching activities.

Contact the WFA representative in each school for nomination forms. The representatives are: Judith Colver, Allied Health Sciences, colver@uthscsa.edu; Margo Layman, School of Nursing, layman@uthscsa.edu; Dr. Alice Gong, School of Medicine, gong@uthscsa.edu; Dede Matocha, Dental School, matochad@uthscsa.edu; and Dr. Ellen Kraig, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, kraig@uthscsa.edu. The deadline to submit nomination forms is March 15.


Volunteers needed for NAFSA conference

The office of international services (OIS) announces that NAFSA: Association of International Educators, will host its 54th annual conference in San Antonio, May 26 through 31, at the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center. OIS employees are assisting in local preparations and seek volunteers to help with hospitality. Volunteers will be responsible for answering questions about San Antonio, its restaurants and its attractions.

NAFSA's goal is to promote the exchange of students and scholars to and from the United States. The association seeks to increase awareness of and support for international education in higher education, government and in the community.

To volunteer, send an e-mail to Sylvia Medel at smedel@utsa.edu with the following information: first and last name, title, institution, address, city, state, ZIP code, daytime and evening phone numbers, fax number and e-mail address.

For more information, call Medel at 458-7202.


TOP