April 26, 2002
Volume XXXV, No. 17


Of Note


UTHSC dental students take top honors at IADR/AADR meeting

PHOTO Dental student honorees pictured are (L-R) Amy James, Adam Martin, Aaron Unterbrink, Juan Dong, Violetta Martinez, Dr. Silvana Florescu-Zorila and Petros Papagerakis.

Dental School faculty, residents, post-doctoral fellows and students presented nearly 90 research abstracts at the 2002 joint meeting of the International and American Associations for Dental Research.

Five dental students participated in the Caulk Dentsply national competition. Presenting research in the basic science category were Jason Duggan and Jessica Ibarra. Ibarra earned third prize for her research. Competing in the clinical science category were Jennifer Burcin, Michelle Salgado and Damen Caraway.

The Dental School also had seven national finalists participate in the AADR/Warner Lambert Hatton Competition. Presenting research in the Junior Category were dental students Aaron Unterbrink, Amy James and Violetta Martinez. Martinez took home first prize for her research. National finalists in the Senior Category were residents Lori Santos and Haris Ehland. Post-doctoral national finalists include Petros Papagerakis and Juan Dong. Dong earned second prize in the national competition and second prize in the international competition.

"We are so proud of all of our students," said Dr. Mary MacDougall, Dental School professor and associate dean for research. "It is an honor to have so many students selected for these national competitions."

In addition, dental student Amy James won the 2002 David B. Scott Fellowship, and post-doctoral fellow Dr. Silvana Florescu-Zorila won the IADR/ Colgate Research in Prevention Travel Award. Six dental students were selected to receive 2003 AADR Student Research Fellowships. They are Casey Campbell, Cara Knight, Scott Leune, Kyle Sparkman, Aaron Unterbrink and Robert Williamson.