February 16, 2001
Volume XXXIV, No. 7


National Exposure

Newly Granted

Of Note


Faculty members serve Medical Society

Dr. Francisco G. Cigarroa Dr. Donald Gordon
Dr. Francisco G. CigarroaDr. Donald Gordon
Dr. Marilyn Harrington Dr. Rajam Ramamurthy

Dr. Marilyn Harrington

Dr. Rajam Ramamurthy

The Bexar County Medical Society's (BCMS) new officers and committee members for 2001 include many Health Science Center faculty and students.

The six-member Board of Directors, led by the society's new president, vascular surgeon Dr. Gerardo Ortega, includes Dr. Rajam Ramamurthy, pediatrics. She is also a BCMS delegate to the Texas Medical Association, chairs the BCMS Marketing, Communications and Public Relations Committee, and is a member of the Membership Committee.

Directors of the BCMS for 2001 include the Health Science Center's president, Dr. Francisco G. Cigarroa, and Dr. Donald Gordon, emergency medical technology. Dr. Gordon also is on the BCMS Real Estate Holding Co. Board of Directors and is a BCMS delegate to the Texas Medical Association.

Directors of the BCMS Foundation include Dr. Marilyn Harrington, dean of allied health sciences, and Dr. Ian Thompson, surgery.

Dr. Franklin Redmond, psychiatry, is a member of the BCMS Board of Mediation.

Dr. John P. Howe III, former Health Science Center president, and Dr. Albert Sanders, orthopaedics, are alternate delegates from the BCMS to the Texas Medical Association.

Dr. Charles Bauer, surgery, chairs the BCMS Emergency Preparedness Committee and Dr. Morris E. Franklin Jr., surgery, chairs the BCMS Technology Committee.

Several Health Science Center students serve as members of the Medical School Liaison Committee and other committees.

Chartered in 1853, the society was created to represent "the best interests of the patient and public in health care issues and … (to) serve the physicians of Bexar County in accomplishing this end."