Dec. 14, 2001
Volume XXXIV, No. 49



Dental School students receive scholarships

Photo of Kalkwarf and scholarship recipients
Dr. Kenneth Kalkwarf (second from left), dean of the Dental School, congratulates (L-R) Heather Bobb, DS-4, Brandy Howard, DS-1, and David Dennison, DS-1, on their scholarships.

Hard work and determination paid off for five dental students who were awarded scholarships for their academic achievement.

Fourth-year student Heather Bobb received a $1,500 Pierre Fauchard Academy Dental Student Scholarship for her potential to develop into an outstanding leader in the dental profession.

The Dental Alumni Association Scholarship Endowment Fund awarded top-ranking entering first-year student David Dennison $5,000.

First-year student Brandy Howard received $1,000 from the David P. Green Scholarship Endowment. The scholarship is available to students in every school of the Health Science Center.

Freshmen class president Kelly Larkin was selected to receive the $5,000 Martha Wood Scholarship. The award was established by Herbert Pearce in honor of his wife, former UTHSC executive assistant to the president and former interim dean of the Dental School.

First-year student Jonathan McDonald was awarded the four-year, $10,000 Bill Dickerson Scholarship.

Photo of scholarship presentation
(L-R) Herbert Pearce and Dr. Martha Wood present Kelly Larkin, DS-1, with the Martha Wood Scholarship as Dr. Denee Thomas, associate professor in the department of periodontics and associate dean for student affairs in the Dental School, looks on.

Photo of McDonald
Jonathan McDonald, DS-1, received the Bill Dickerson Scholarship.