Nov. 30, 2001
Volume XXXIV, No. 47


Of Note


Employees shine at 2001 service awards ceremony

Photo of Menchacas and Cigarroa
Dr. Francisco G. Cigarroa (right), Health Science Center president, congratulates William Menchaca, facilities management, on his 20-year service award as Menchaca's wife, Margie, looks on.

On Nov. 15, the Health Science Center community gathered in the auditorium to celebrate the 30th Annual Service Awards Program. This year, 76 employees were honored for 20 years of service, 53 were honored for 25 years of service, eight were honored for 30 years of service, three were honored for 35 years of service and one was recognized for 40 years of service to the Health Science Center and other UT System institutions.

Dr. Francisco G. Cigarroa, president, presented the awards and praised the recipients for their contributions.

"With the devoted employees we recognize today, we will continue to excel as the academic health science center for San Antonio and all of South Texas," Dr. Cigarroa said. "My goal is to bring the Health Science Center to the next level of excellence. You exemplify that excellence and, working together, we will reach that goal."

The human resources office reported that a record number of nominations were submitted for the Employee Excellence in Service Awards this year. Five outstanding individuals received the prestigious award, which came with a $1,000 cash prize. They are featured on the following pages.

Employee Excellence in Service Awards

Portrait of Sandra Cedillo
Sandra Cedillo
Portrait of Brian Purcell
Brian Purcell
Portrait of Liz Buel
Liz Buel
Portrait of Tania Bardyn
Tania Bardyn
Portrait of Dina Perry
Dina Perry