Aug. 31, 2001
Volume XXXIV, No. 35



Dental honor society inducts 14 new members

Illustration of dental instruments

Fourteen UTHSC alumni, faculty and researchers have joined the ranks of the dental elite. All are recent inductees into the Mu Nu chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU). OKU is a national dental honor society created to promote excellence in scholarship, character and practice.

"It is highly selective," said Dr. Peggy Alexander, former president of the Mu Nu chapter of OKU at the UTHSC. "This organization is universally recognized as one of the finest achievements in the dental field."

OKU members are selected from three categories: dental school alumni, faculty members and honorary members. Alumni members must have graduated in the top 20 percent of their class and must show exemplary traits of character and potential qualities of future professional growth. Faculty members are selected for their contributions to the art, science or literature of dentistry. Honorary members include anyone who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of dentistry.

The Mu Nu chapter has approximately 150 members at this time. The recent inductees are:

Craig Anderson
Sara Bender
Matthew Byarlay
Tara Hodges
Brian Prentice
Lauren Phan
Heather Ridgeway
Melanie Robinson
Jeffery Saunders
Shannon Stapp
Dr. Barry Holleron,
restorative dentistry
Dr. Thomas Oates,
Dr. Thomas Watkins,
restorative dentistry

Dr. Denee Thomas,