Aug. 17, 2001
Volume XXXIV, No. 34



Of Note


San Antonio physicians well represented in TMA IMG section

Photo of plaque presentation Dr. Nick Shroff (right) presents Dr. Rajam Ramamurthy, professor in the department of pediatrics, with a plaque in recognition of her leadership role in the Texas Medical Association's (TMA) International Medical Graduates section. The presentation took place during the TMA's annual meeting in Houston.

Dr. Rajam Ramamurthy, pediatrics, the first elected chair of the Texas Medical Association's International Medical Graduates (TMA-IMG) section, was given a plaque in appreciation of her leadership of the section during a recent TMA-IMG section meeting.

The section meeting, held during the TMA annual meetings in Houston, was well attended. The keynote speaker, Dr. Bush Ahmad, addressed the topic "IMG Physician's Role in Organized Medicine." Earlier during the governing council meeting, a mock resolution was taken through its various stages as part of leadership training. TMA leaders Dr. Carolyn Evans, president of the Dallas County Medical Society; Dr. Vijay Koli, immediate past president of the Bexar County Medical Society; Dr. Michael Speers, immediate past president of Harris County Medical Society; Dr. Guru Reddy, past chair of the section; and Dr. Nalin Tolia, member of the TMA foundation board, were facilitators at the session.

The TMA-IMG section has excellent representation from San Antonio physicians. Drs. Antonieta Gonzales and Josephine Ruiz-Healy will serve a second year on the governing council of the section. Dr. Ruiz-Healy is an alternate delegate from the section of the TMA House of Delegates.

The section will focus on issues pertaining to licensure, residency training, leadership in organized medicine and other topics.