April 6, 2001
Volume XXXIV, No. 14


Making the Rounds

Of Note

Retirement Roundup


Dental students honored with scholarships

Scholarship presentation photo Dr. Kenneth Kalkwarf, dean of the Dental School, presents student Violetta Martinez the Martha Wood Scholarship.

Portrait of Laji James

Student Laji James received the Pierre Fauchard Academy Dental Student Scholarship.

The Martha Wood Scholarship and the Pierre Fauchard Academy Dental Student Scholarship have been awarded to a freshman and a senior dental student, respectively.

Violetta A. Martinez, DS-I, was selected for the Martha Wood Scholarship based on her "worthy" pursuit of a career in dentistry and her documented need for financial support. The award was for $500 in this first year of its distribution and is expected to grow in future years.

The award honors Dr. Martha Wood, former executive assistant to the president of the Health Science Center and former interim dean of the Dental School. The award was created in her honor by her husband, Herbert Pearce.

Laji J. James, DS-IV, received the Pierre Fauchard Academy Dental Student Scholarship Award for $1,500. This is the fifth year this scholarship has been made available and it is awarded to an individual who has demonstrated the greatest potential for developing into an outstanding leader in the dental profession.

The Pierre Fauchard Academy is an international dental honor organization and its foundation was created in 1985. Fauchard was a French dentist in Paris in the early 1700s and is considered a founder of modern dentistry.