November 20, 2000
Volume XXXIII, No. 38



HSC Profile



HSC Senate elects first chairman

Dr. Tod Sloan is the first chairman of the Health Science Center Faculty Senate.

Dr. Tod Sloan, professor in the Department of Anesthesiology, was elected Oct. 10 as the first chairman of the Health Science Center Faculty Senate. He was chosen on the first ballot along with the new chair-elect, Dr. Judy Teale, professor of microbiology. Dr. Margaret Brackley, associate professor of chronic nursing care, is in the position of past-chair.

Representatives from the faculty assemblies of the graduate, dental, allied health, nursing and medical schools voted at the meeting and were sworn in as the inaugural senators.

Dr. Martin Meltz, professor of radiation oncology, chaired the meeting until the officer selection. Dr. Meltz was instrumental in forming a Faculty Senate Working Group in the past few years and appointing a Bylaws Committee chaired by Dr. Richard Suddick, professor of community dentistry.

"Id like to thank Dr. Meltz and the members of both committees for getting us off to a great start," Dr. Sloan said. "As a Senate, we have a great chance to make a positive contribution. We must establish internal credibility and act in the very best interest of the university."

The Senate has begun forming its structure, Dr. Sloan said, noting that all faculty members (senators or not) are invited to join the committees of the Senate. These committees will examine issues such as public health initiatives and post-tenure review.

"Faculty should start gathering their thoughts about issues the Senate should address," he said.

Senate bylaws were endorsed with more than 80 percent of the vote during a recent election in which 350 faculty members cast ballots.

The latest news and postings about the Faculty Senate may be read at The site includes the names and contact information of the senators.

The Senate will meet from 4:30 to 6 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 13 in the Pestana Lecture Hall, room 3.104A. All faculty are invited and encouraged to attend.