October 10, 2000
Volume XXXIII, No. 35



HSC Profile

In Memoriam

Newly Granted



Balderas, writers win awards

  • Psychiatry Genetics Fellow Dr. Teresita Balderas garnered the 2000 Janssen Psychiatry Resident Award of Excellence, which was presented at the American Psychiatric Association’s annual meeting. Dr. Balderas was among 146 residents throughout the country who earned the awards.

Janssen Pharmaceuticals Products L.P., a member of the Johnson & Johnson family, invited directors of residency training programs to nominate one exceptional resident in their last year of training in psychiatry for this award.

  • Public affairs staffers placed in several competitions in 2000. In the Women In Communications Headliner/Proliner Awards, Heather Feldman won an award for The Mission in the category "Writing for Magazines: Science/Medicine Article." Catherine Duncan, Mission editor, won in the "Print Media: External Magazine, Non-Profit" category. Duncan also placed in the "Print Media: External Newsletter, Non-Profit" category for her work on Impact, a newsletter highlighting Health Science Center accomplishments. Feldman also placed in the "Print Media: Internal Newsletter, Non-Profit" category for The News.

Will Sansom, public affairs, won an International Association of Business Communicators District 5 Silver Quill award in the category "Feature or Human-Interest Writing" for a Mission article titled "Fighting Bone Loss." The story featured the research of Dr. Gregory Mundy, medicine. Sansom won an IABC Bronze Quill at the San Antonio chapter level for another Mission article about the Department of Microbiology’s Master of Science Evening Program for area teachers.