August 28, 2000
Volume XXXIII, No. 32



HSC Profile



A summer camp with a difference

Camp CAMP (Childrenís Association for Maximum Potential) is a unique program for children with severe disabilities, from those who depend on ventilators to those with severe autism. The camp hosts about 125 children each summer. It has a 14-bed infirmary equipped with sophisticated medical equipment and is the only camp in the nation with an official heliport for medical transport.

This summer, several of the volunteer counselors were children of UTHSC faculty. They learned how to help children on ventilators swim, canoe and ride horses; how to administer feedings through gastrostomy tubes; and how to manage aggressive or self-injurious children with autism.

In addition, as part of CAMPís award-winning continuing medical education course, the following students, residents and faculty participated in the program as speakers or volunteer medical staff.

Faculty members: Dr. Antoinne Able, rehabilitation medicine; Dr. Janet Banks, family nursing care; Dr. Barbara Boucher, physical therapy; Dr. Chris Johnson, pediatrics (CAMP medical director); Dr. John King, rehabilitation medicine; Dr. Ellen Leonard, rehabilitation medicine; Dr. Richard Stribley, pediatrics; and Patty Villarreal, family nursing care.

From the Medical School: Dallas Connor, Melissa Crowe, Jill Davenport, Wendy de los Santos, Matthew Dunham, Anthony Longo, Heather Leigh Neaville, Paulomi Parikh, Gregory Paul, Erin Phillips, Brock Pierce, Jessica Wallace and Tammie Williams.

From the Department of Physical Therapy: Valerie Christopher, Jennifer Flores, Erica Freeman, Heidi Horton, Michelle Laremore, Beth Miller, Jennifer Popescu and Jaclyn Schmidt.

From the School of Nursing: Shawn Albright, Karalyn Babbit, Christen Bennett, Michael Blankenship, Kathleen Camberlain, Kenneth Hutchinson, Brian Mallory, Kayci Maurer, Kathryn Parke, Jessica Pawelek, Abril Torrez, Angela Tyykila and Karen Walker.

These Camp CAMP volunteer counselors are children of UTHSC faculty and staff members. Front row from left: Jared White, Sterling-Nell Harst, Megan Walsh and Katlin Walsh. Back row: Mike Fox, Robert Campos, Liz Campos and Andrea King.