August 28, 2000
Volume XXXIII, No. 32



HSC Profile




Dr. Celia Kaye, chair of the Department of Pediatrics, was honored Aug. 10 by the Christian Business and Professional Women at their monthly After Five social. She was one of two "Leading Ladies" honored, along with Judge Carmen Kelsey, 289th Judicial District Court.

Dr. Alexander Shepherd, chief of the Division of Clinical Pharmacology, has been named chair of two committees at the U.S. Pharmacopeia: the Cardiovascular and Renal Drugs Council of Experts and the Executive Committee of the Council of Experts.

(Left to right) Mark Truman MS-III, Dr. Robert Kline, Jason Griffith, MS-III, and Dr. Robert Reddick, chair, Department of Pathology, celebrate the accomplishments of Truman and Griffith, the two highest finishers in the 1999–2000 Sophomore Medical Pathology Course. Dr. Kline was on hand to present the Carl A. Kline Award, which is awarded annually to the student with the highest grade in the course. Jason Griffith won the $500 award and plaque. The Kline Award honors the memory of Dr. Kline’s brother, a San Antonio pathologist. Mark Truman received the American Society of Clinical Pathologists Award, which also is given to top second-year medical students. He received a textbook for the second highest final grade in the course.