June 30, 2000
Volume XXXIII, No. 26



Of Note



Dr. E. Phyllis Bowie, cellular and structural biology, was recognized as  Freshman Class Professor of the Year by the dental class of 2003 and received  the DSA Award for 1999-2000. 

Dr. William Watson, South Texas Poison Center, has been reappointed to the  United States Pharmacopeia Clinical Toxicology and Drug Abuse Advisory Panel for  2000 to 2005. Dr. Watson has been a member of the panel since its creation in  1990. 

Douglas B Cobb, Dr. Watson and Dr. Miguel C. Fernandez, from the South Texas  Poison Center, had the clinical report "Botulism-like Syndrome after Injections  of Botulinum Toxin" published in the June 2000 issue of  Veterinary and Human Toxicology

Dr. Robert Kessler, senior resident in the Division of Plastic and  Reconstructive Surgery, received the award for Best Aesthetic Paper at the 39th  Annual Plastic Surgery Senior Residents Conference in April. His paper was  titled "HIV-1 Protease Inhibitors and the Plastic Surgeon." 

Cheryl Burns, associate professor, clinical laboratory sciences, was selected  for membership in the Alpha Mu Tau Fraternity for her significant contribution  to clinical laboratory sciences. 

Jennifer Stine, graduate student in the Department of Biochemistry, has been  elected historian of The University of Texas System Student Advisory Council. 

Rajia Tobia, associate director for collection development at the Briscoe  Library, recently was awarded a renewed membership at the "distinguished" level  in the Medical Library Association's Academy of Health Information  Professionals.