May 26, 2000
Volume XXXIII, No. 21




Women's Faculty Association honors student leaders

The Health Science Center Women's Faculty Association (WFA) held its annual Student Leadership Awards luncheon recently at the Oak Hills Country Club. An awards committee chaired by Dr. Connie Mobley, community dentistry, selected student leaders from the five schools. Awards committee members were Sharon Barbieri, dental hygiene education; Dr. Beth Goins, radiology; Dede Matocha, general dentistry; Alice Gong, pediatrics; and Viola Benavente, chronic nursing care.

The student leaders were selected for their scholarship, service and professional leadership. Each student received a scholarship check and a plaque. Award recipients were Amy Tefertiller, Department of Physical Therapy, School of Allied Health Sciences; Kenda Evans, Department of Pharmacology, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences; Laura Hudgings, Medical School; Jennifer Pettit, Dental School; and Rosalie Tierney-Gumaer, School of Nursing.

Women's Faculty Association representatives and Student Leadership Award winners pictured at a recent Oak Hills Country Club luncheon are (left to right) Jennifer Pettit, Dede Matocha, Rosalie Tierney-Gumaer, Viola Benavente, Laura Hudgings, Dr. Alice Gong, Dr. Gale Haradon (WFA president), Amy Tefertiller, Dr. Beth Goins and Kenda Evans.