May 5, 2000
Volume XXXIII, No. 18




Newly Granted

Of Note




Dr. Stephen Mattingly, professor in the Department of Microbiology, was honored with the 2000 Graduate Microbiology Teaching Award from the American Society for Microbiology. The national award honors exceptional teaching and mentoring of microbiology students at the graduate and postgraduate levels. Dr. Mattingly was awarded the honor for the K-12 microbiology teachers program he designed and organized. He will receive the award at the society's national meeting this month and will deliver a presentation titled "A Master of Science Evening Program in Microbiology for K-12 Teachers."

Dr. Qing Chen, a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Physiology, received the American Physiological Society's Michael J. Brody Young Investigator Award at the annual experimental biology meeting. The award was given for "Discharge Properties and Osmotic Responsiveness of Paraventricular Nucleus Neurons Projecting to the Rostral Ventrolateral Medulla." Dr. Chen was presented with a $500 award and certificate at the event.

Dr. Michael Wiederhold, a professor in the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, chaired a symposium on Model Systems for Studying the Development in Altered Gravity at the 21st annual meeting of the International Society for Gravitational Physiology. The symposium was held in April in Nagoya, Japan.

Dr. Alexander Miller, assistant professor in the Department of Surgery, was awarded an American College of Surgeons Faculty Research Fellowship from the organization's Board of Regents. The two-year fellowships are offered to surgeons entering academic careers in surgery or a surgical specialty.

Dr. Olav Alvares, professor in the Department of Periodontics, has been named editor of the Journal of Dental Education. Bill Hendricson, educational research and development, has been named associate editor. The journal is the official academic publication of the American Dental Education Association.