April 26, 2000
Volume XXXIII, No. 17


Of Note



Nominations sought for president

After 15 years of outstanding and dedicated service, Dr. John P. Howe, III, has announced that he will leave the position of president effective Jan. 1.

A 19-member Advisory Committee for the Selection of a President was announced on March 29 to advise The University of Texas System Board of Regents on the selection of a president.

The members of the advisory committee are Dr. Charles B. Mullins, executive vice chancellor for health affairs for the U. T. System; Dr. William H. Cunningham, chancellor of the U. T. System; Tom Loeffler, chairman of the Regents' Health Affairs Committee; A. R. Sanchez, Jr., a member of the Board of Regents; Dr. Kern Wildenthal, president of the U. T. Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas; Dr. John Mendelsohn, president of the U. T. M. D. Anderson Cancer Center;

Dr. Barbara Boucher, assistant professor in the School of Allied Health Sciences; Dr. Lawrence Harkless, professor in the Medical School; Dr. Archie Jones, associate professor in the Dental School; Dr. Steven Wartman, Medical School dean; Christine Burgess, a second-year medical student; Jennifer Stine, a third-year graduate student; Dr. C. Roger Macias, Dental School Alumni Association; Judy P. Wolf, vice president for university relations; Noemi Trejo, administrative assistant in the Office of the Vice President and Chief Information Officer; Jocelyn Straus, president of the Health Science Center's Development Board; Gary Woods, chairman of the board of the Cancer Therapy & Research Center; Dr. Ricardo Cigarroa, a physician from Laredo and a member of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board; and Dr. Juliet V. Garcia, president of U. T. Brownsville.

Qualifications for the position include impressive achievement in the administration of academic health resources; a demonstrated ability to articulate the role and needs of a publicly supported, comprehensive health science center in South Texas to all of its public and private constituencies; a proven commitment to excellence in health education, patient care, hospital management and research in a managed care environment; and a recognized ability to exercise the sensitivity and leadership skills necessary to work with the various constituencies essential to the achievement of excellence.

Nominations and applications should be received no later than July 21. After that date, the advisory committee may request and consider credentials from candidates nominated by other responsible sources.

Please direct nominations to Dr. Charles B. Mullins, chairman, Advisory Committee for the Selection of a President, 601 Colorado Street, Austin, Texas 78701, or any member of the advisory committee.