April 21, 2000
Volume XXXIII, No. 16



Of Note



Tri-School Dental Science Symposium sets attendance records

Eight Health Science Center dental students and graduate trainees won awards for their presentations at the Second Annual Tri-School Dental Science Symposium held April 14.

The event was held at the Health Science Center and co-hosted by the San Antonio Chapter of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) and the Dental School. Students and faculty from the Baylor College of Dentistry and the U. T. Houston Dental Branch also participated.

"The turnout this year was about three times higher than at any previous dental school symposium held in Texas. This is a real tribute to our Dental School and its faculty for their support for student research and research in general. We have been very fortunate to have so many companies sponsor this event, allowing it to be this successful," said program director Dr. Kyumin Whang, assistant professor in the Department of Restorative Dentistry, Division of Biomaterials.

"The record levels of participation and corporate support during our 18th Annual Dental Science Symposium, together with the high quality of the various presentations, highlights the outstanding reputation of dental research in the state of Texas and, especially, at our own Health Science Center here in San Antonio," said Dr. Chris Flores, president of the San Antonio Chapter of the AADR and assistant professor in the Department of Endodontics.

Nine companies, the Office of the Dental School Dean and the Office of Continuing Dental Education helped sponsor the symposium, and made possible the presentation of 20 prizes totaling more than $3,500. A record 100 predoctoral students, postdoctoral students, faculty and staff presented 64 poster presentations, 24 oral presentations, seven table clinics and the special science symposium. The special symposium was given by the Advanced Dental Restorative Systems (ADRS) teamDrs. H. Ralph Rawls, Mary MacDougall and Don Ranly of the Dental School, and Dr. Steven Wellinghoff of the Southwest Research Instituteon their multidisciplinary collaboration.

The keynote speaker was Dr. Ray Dionne, clinical director of the Division of Intramural Research, National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health. His address was titled "Clinical Research in the Molecular-Genetic Era: R.I.P. or Born Again?"

This was the 18th annual Dental Science Symposium sponsored by the San Antonio Chapter of the AADR, but only the second in which three schools have participated.

The Health Science Center winners were:

Predoctoral poster presentations: First place, Christopher Daniel, "Establishment and Characterization of Mouse Immortalized Enamel Organ Epithelium-Derived Cell Lines"; second place, Carrie Williams, "17b-Estradiol Mediates Gender-Specific Effects on Chondrocytes Via Activation of PLC, G-proteins and PKC"; and honorable mention, Peggy Chang, "Fibroblast Responses to Ti Treated with Silicone."

Predoctoral oral presentation: First place, Cara Knight, "Characterization of Nma Transcription and Translation Patterns during Odonto-Genesis."

Postdoctoral poster presentation: Second place, Thomas Hummert, "Expression and Production of Stathmin in Chondrocytes Is Cell Maturation Dependent."

Postdoctoral oral presentation: First place, Nina Tsai, "An Evaluation of Inflammation Associated with the Implant/Abutment Interface"; second place, Juan Dong, "Exclusion of DMP1 Gene from a Causative Role in DGI-III & DD-II."

Senior predoctoral/clinical post-doctoral student presentation: First place, Scott Stratemann, "Disruption of the S. pombe aph1 and aps1 Genes."