April 21, 2000
Volume XXXIII, No. 16



Of Note



Dr. Nancy Girard, chair and associate professor in the Department of Acute Nursing Care, was voted chair-elect for the Texas Council of Operating Room Nurses at the recent International Association of Operating Room Nurses (AORN) Congress meeting in New Orleans. She will serve as chair-elect during 20002001, and chair during 20012002.

Dr. Anne Garner, acute nursing care, has received the Minnie L. Maffett Fellowship Award from the Texas Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs. The award will allow Dr. Garner to complete competency evaluations for senior undergraduate students who have been a part of the School of Nursing's clinical partnership teaching project with the Methodist Healthcare System. Dr. Garner is the first nursing faculty member at the Health Science Center to receive an award from the Texas Federation.

Clinical laboratory sciences alumna Jackie Keene has been recognized by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Health Care Organizations for her innovative plan to enhance patient outcome measures at the Warm Springs Baptist Rehabilitation Clinic. Patient satisfaction rates with clinical laboratory services have soared to more than 98 percent since the plan was implemented.