Excellence in Education

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio educates the majority of physicians and other health care professionals practicing in South Texas. The institution has five schools offering programs in biomedical sciences and health professions: The Dental School, The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, The School of Medicine, The School of Health Professions and The School of Nursing. In all, the UT Health Science Center San Antonio offers 68 health science-related degree specialties (M.D., D.D.S., Ph.D., for example) and pre- and post-baccalaureate certificate programs.


Among its many academic offerings, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences prepares school teachers for future Ph.D.-level study by offering a Master of Science degree that equips them as master science teachers in their classrooms.


Both the School of Medicine and Dental School have state-mandated enrollment caps for each class. No more than 200 medical students and no more than 90 dental students may begin studies each year. Student retention in these schools is 95 percent to 100 percent annually.


The School of Nursing and School of Health Professions, with large undergraduate as well as graduate degree programs, have more than 35 percent Hispanic student enrollment.


Of 1,640 students in the region who enrolled for study in a Texas health institution (public and private), 1,468 (90 percent) attended a UT System institution and 1,154 (70 percent) enrolled at the Health Science Center. In all, more than 2,800 students each year train in an environment that involves more than 100 affiliated hospitals, clinics and health care facilities in South Texas. Health Science Center students reflect the diverse population of Texas. A majority of its 27,994 graduates work and live in Texas.

  • Annual Enrollment - 3,310, plus 1,090 residents and fellows
  • Total graduates: 27,994