Mission magazine banner
) George Crawford, Carlos Roberto Jaén, Leslie Myatt, Ronald M. Stewart
(Left to right) George Crawford, Carlos Roberto Jaén, Leslie Myatt and Ronald M. Stewart

Appointments and awards

January 2014

George Crawford, M.D., MACP, professor of medicine and associate director of the Internal Medicine Program, was elected governor of the Southern Texas Region of the American College of Physicians (ACP). He will be installed as the governor-elect at the national ACP meeting in April 2014. Dr. Crawford is board certified in internal medicine and infectious disease and has been a faculty member at the Health Science Center since 1997.

Carlos Roberto Jaén, M.D., Ph.D., FAAFP, professor and chair of the Department of Family and Community Medicine, was elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM) in October. Election to the IOM is one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine. Dr. Jaén is a family physician whose research on improving patient-centered care and community health has drawn international acclaim.

Leslie Myatt, Ph.D., professor of obstetrics and gynecology and director of the Center for Pregnancy and Newborn Research, was named a Fellow ad Eundem of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists this fall in London, England. This prestigious designation is awarded to only five individuals per year who are not members of the college and have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the science or practice of obstetrics and gynecology.

Ronald M. Stewart, M.D., FACS, professor and chair of the Department of Surgery, trauma surgeon at University Hospital, and physician with UT Medicine San Antonio, was appointed by the Board of Regents of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) as the next chair of the ACS Committee on Trauma. The committee is dedicated to all phases of injury care from prevention to rehabilitation.


More stories:

Read current stories



Previous Issues

Current Issue (PDF)


Email us

HSC News

Make a Gift

University Home

UT Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

© 2002 - 2015 UTHSCSA
Office of Communications
All rights reserved.

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Updated 12/11/14