Mission magazine banner
Endowments bring top talent to South Texas

Endowments bring top talent to
South Texas

March 2011

Through the partnership with CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Children’s Hospital and five generous endowments from the Santa Rosa Children’s Hospital Foundation, the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio is recruiting and retaining some of the world’s top experts in a wide range of pediatric health care specialties and subspecialties. The endowment recipients are listed.

  • Funded by an anonymous donor - Thomas C. Mayes, M.D., M.B.A., professor and chair of the Department of Pediatrics and Physician-in-Chief CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Children’s Hospital, holds the Sister Angela Clare Moran Distinguished Chair in Pediatrics.

    "By creating an academic children’s hospital partnership, we have been able to expand care to children throughout the city and South Texas and at the same time, prepare the next generation of health care providers."
    -Thomas C. Mayes, M.D., M.B.A.

  • Funded by the Santa Rosa Children’s Hospital Endowment Fund - Steven R. Neish, M.D., S.M., assistant professor and chief of the Division of Pediatric Cardiology, holds the Richard S. Wayne, M.D., Distinguished Chair in Pediatric Cardiology.

    "CHRISTUS Santa Rosa’s generosity and partnership sharpens the multidisciplinary team approach that benefits the most ill infants and children in South Texas who suffer from congenital heart disease. This allows us to concentrate on enhancing safe, effective care every day, all day."
    -Steven R. Neish, M.D., S.M.

  • Funded by the John and Mary Ann Whalen Memorial Trust - Naveen Mittal, M.D., professor and chief of the Division of Pediatric Gastroenterology and Hepatology and medical director of the CHRISTUS Transplant Institute, holds the John and Mary Ann Whalen Memorial Distinguished Chair in Pediatric Gastroenterology.

    "I am thrilled to be working in an environment where the partnership between a university and hospital offers patients top-notch health care providers, first-class facilities and equipment as well as the support of hospital and university administrators and the entire community."
    -Naveen Mittal, M.D.

  • Funded by The Gorman Foundation - John H. Calhoon, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery, holds the Rowena C. Gorman Distinguished Chair in Pediatric Cardiac Surgery.

    "The generous philanthropic support of the Gorman Foundation and the CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Children’s Hospital Foundation will help our patient care team recruit a third surgeon as well as support patient and physician education through outreach. These efforts will further strengthen the care of children with heart disease in our region and beyond."
    -John H. Calhoon, M.D.

  • Funded by the Goldsbury Foundation - The Kaye E. Wilkins, M.D., Distinguished Chair in Pediatric Orthopaedics is named in honor of Kaye E. Wilkins, M.D., professor of pediatric orthopaedic surgery, who, for more than 38 years as a UT Health Science Center faculty member and practicing physician, continues to impact the lives of countless patients, students and fellow health care providers in more than 20 countries around the world. The endowment will allow for the Health Science Center to recruit an outstanding pediatric orthopaedic surgeon to practice at CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Children’s Hospital.

    "Thanks to the Goldsbury Foundation and CHRISTUS Santa Rosa, we will be able to help repair and slow the progression of common musculoskeletal problems in even more children and prepare more future doctors in the field. I am humbled and honored that this endowment bears my name."
    -Kaye E. Wilkins, M.D.

Related Stories

UT Health Science Center and CHRISTUS form unparalleled partnership


More stories:

Read current stories



Previous Issues

Current Issue (PDF)


Email us

HSC News

Make a Gift

University Home

UT Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

© 2002 - 2015 UTHSCSA
Office of Communications
All rights reserved.

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Updated 12/11/14