Mission magazine banner

HSC past, present and future celebrated, first history book unveiled

April 2010

Dr. William L. Henrich, Dr. Frank Harrison and Dr. Francisco G. Cigarroa
(L-R) William L. Henrich, M.D., MACP, Health Science Center president, Frank Harrison, M.D., Ph.D., and Francisco G. Cigarroa, M.D., chancellor of The University of Texas System, proudly hold a copy of "The Crown Jewel." John. P. Howe III, M.D., (not pictured) was unable to attend the ceremony, but sent a video-recorded message that was presented to the audience.
The four presidents of the Health Science Center were honored at an on-campus reception in November 2009. This included President Frank Harrison, M.D., Ph.D., president from 1972 to 1985; President John P. Howe III, M.D., president from 1985-2000; President Francisco G. Cigarroa, M.D., president from 2000-2009 who was named chancellor of The University of Texas System in February 2009; and President William L. Henrich, M.D., MACP, the university's current president.

In addition to honoring the four presidents, the event celebrated the past, present and future of the Health Science Center, with the unveiling of the university's first history book "The Crown Jewel." The book, which was authored by Will Sansom and designed by Jennifer Bernu-Bittle, staff members of the Office of External Affairs at the Health Science Center, is available for purchase through the University Bookstore.

Related Stories

Own a copy of "The Crown Jewel"


More stories:

Read current stories



Previous Issues

Current Issue (PDF)


Email us

HSC News

Make a Gift

University Home

UT Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

© 2002 - 2015 UTHSCSA
Office of Communications
All rights reserved.

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Updated 12/11/14