Mission magazine banner

Employees honored at Presidential Awards

April 2010

Arlan Richardson, Ph.D.
Presidential Distinguished Scholar Arlan Richardson, Ph.D.
Faculty and staff members who exemplify exceptional leadership in their fields were recognized at the 2010 Presidential Awards ceremony. The Health Science Center's highest honor, the Presidential Distinguished Scholar award, was presented to Arlan Richardson, Ph.D., professor of Cellular and Structural Biology, and director of the Barshop Institute for Longevity and Aging Studies. The other award winners are:

President's Choice Award
  • James F. Hanley III, M.D. , Medicine
Teaching Excellence Award
  • Kaparaboyna Ashok Kumar, M.D., FRCS, FAAFP
  • Family and Community Medicine
  • Judy Maltas, M.S.N., RN, CCRN, Acute Nursing Care
  • Darlene Metter, M.D., FACR, Radiology
  • J.D. Overton, D.D.S., Restorative Dentistry
  • Ruben D. Restrepo, M.D., RRT, Respiratory Care
  • Helen Sorenson, M.A., RRT, Respiratory Care
Clinical Excellence Award
  • Daniel A. Johnson, M.D., Ophthalmology
  • C. Blake Simpson, M.D., Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery
  • Donna Beth Willey-Courand, M.D., Pediatrics/Pulmonary Medicine
Employee Excellence Award
  • Donna M. Doulton, RN, B.Sc.N., Pediatrics
  • Monica McCall, Pediatrics
  • Debbie A. Schifanella, Ophthalmology
  • Carol A. Swartz, M.S.N., RN, Development
  • Robin Tragus, M.S.N., RN, Pediatrics

Related Stories

Appointments and awards



Previous Issues

Current Issue (PDF)


Email us

HSC News

Make a Gift

University Home

UT Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

© 2002 - 2015 UTHSCSA
Office of Communications
All rights reserved.

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Updated 12/11/14