Mission magazine banner
Presidential Distinguished Scholar Ralph A. DeFronzo, M.D.
Presidential Distinguished Scholar Ralph A. DeFronzo, M.D.

Employees honored at Presidential Awards

July 2008

Faculty and staff members who exemplify exceptional leadership in their fields were recognized at the 2008 Presidential Awards. This year’s highest honor, the Presidential Distinguished Scholar Award, was presented to Ralph A. DeFronzo, M.D., professor in the Department of Medicine and chief of the Division of Diabetes. The other award winners are:

Presidential Junior Research Scholar Award
• Robert Brenner, Ph.D.

Clinical Excellence Award
• Alison J. Beck, Ph.D., O.T.R.
• Wayne H. Schwesinger, M.D.
• Ian M. Thompson Jr., M.D.

Employee Excellence in Service Award
• Linda Clark
• Kris Doyle
• Judith Livingston, M.Ed.
• Sherece McGoon
• Rene Torres

Teaching Excellence Award
• Sandra G. Adams, M.D.
• Magda A. de la Torre, R.D.H., M.P.H.
• Glen A. Medellin, M.D.
• Susan L. Naylor, Ph.D.
• Jean A. Petershack, M.D.
• Omid B. Rahimi, Ph.D.

Presidential Volunteer Service Award
• Michelle Batilla
• Carolyn Fralix Gold, M.S.N., R.N.
• Kim Head


More stories:

Read current stories



Previous Issues

Current Issue (PDF)


Email us

HSC News

Make a Gift

University Home

UT Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

© 2002 - 2015 UTHSCSA
Office of Communications
All rights reserved.

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Updated 12/11/14