Mission magazine banner

Appointments and Awards

March 2007

John Alderete, Ph.D.

John Alderete, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology

Dr. Alderete was elected to membership in the Mexican Academy of Sciences, the Mexican equivalent of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

He has devoted much of his research career to the understanding and treatment of the sexually transmitted disease trichomoniasis, which affects as many as 10 million women in the U.S. and 350 million worldwide. His work in the laboratory has yielded the first-ever point-of-care diagnostic test for the infection. The test is hugely sensitive and specific.

William Henrich, M.D., M.A.C.P.
Dean of the School of Medicine and Vice President for Medical Affairs

Dr. Henrich was installed as president of the 9,500-member American Society of Nephrology.

Dr. Henrich is a widely respected scientist whose research interests include hemodynamics on dialysis, analgesic-related kidney dysfunction and hypertension. He is the author of more than 200 scientific publications.

The American Society of Nephrology was established in 1967 to promote the study and practice of nephrology, the branch of medicine related to the kidneys and conditions affecting them.

Dr. Henrich also was named the John P. Howe III, M.D., Distinguished Chair in Health Policy. The chair was established by the USAA Foundation to honor the Health Science Center’s former president John P. Howe III, M.D.

William Henrich, M.D., M.A.C.P.
Julio Palmaz, M.D.

Julio Palmaz, M.D.
Professor of Radiology and Ashbel Smith Professor

Dr. Palmaz, world-renowned inventor of the Palmaz Stent®, became the inaugural recipient and namesake of an industry award honoring innovation in health care and the biosciences. The Julio Palmaz Prize for Innovation in Healthcare and the Biosciences was launched in San Antonio by BioMed SA, a nonprofit corporation founded in 2005 to help grow and promote the city’s thriving health care and bioscience sector. Dr. Palmaz accepted the first award named in his honor, which recognizes individuals or organizations that have made significant contributions to advances in these fields.


More stories:

Read current stories



Previous Issues

Current Issue (PDF)


Email us

HSC News

Make a Gift

University Home

UT Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

© 2002 - 2015 UTHSCSA
Office of Communications
All rights reserved.

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Updated 12/11/14