Mission magazine banner

News and Notes

August 2002

Business Journal honors HSC trio

The San Antonio Business Journal named three Health Science Center faculty members "Health Care Heroes" at a June reception.

Donald J. Gordon, M.D., Ph.D., professor and chairman of emergency medical technology, received the Outstanding Physician award. Charles R. Bauer, M.D., professor of surgery, and Charles A. Coltman Jr., M.D., professor of medicine and president and CEO of the Cancer Therapy & Research Center, both received Lifetime Achievement awards.

Drs. Francisco and Ricardo Cigarroa receive 2003 Laredo honor

Francisco G. Cigarroa, M.D., Health Science Center president, will become Mr. South Texas in February. He’ll share the honor with his brother,
Ricardo G. Cigarroa, M.D.

Each year, the Laredo Washington’s Birthday Celebration Association (WBCA) bestows the prestigious award on individuals dedicated
to improving the lives of others and contributing to the growth of South Texas.

In an unprecedented move, the organization changed the title of the award to
honor both brothers as Misters South Texas 2003.

Schenken named ABOG director

The American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG) has elected Robert Schenken, M.D., as director of its Division of Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility. Dr. Schenken is a professor of obstetrics and gynecology and the Frank Harrison Chair in Reproductive Endocrinology.

The ABOG is an independent, non-profit organization that certifies obstetricians, gynecologists and reproductive endocrinologists in the United States.

AARC honors Dr. Shelledy

The American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) named David Shelledy, Ph.D., the Education Section Specialty Practitioner of the Year at the recent AARC International Congress in San Antonio.

Dr. Shelledy is chair of respiratory care and AARC president-elect. Since joining the Health Science Center faculty in 1994, he has developed one of the country’s premier respiratory therapy programs. He will begin his term as president at the AARC International Conference in October.

Related Stories

Diaz named HSC vice president for governmental relations
Timboe returns to alma mater
HSC programs capture state environmental award


More stories:

Read current stories



Previous Issues

Current Issue (PDF)


Email us

HSC News

Make a Gift

University Home

UT Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

© 2002 - 2015 UTHSCSA
Office of Communications
All rights reserved.

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Updated 12/11/14