Mission magazine banner
Golf tournament

Successful golf tournament begins new traditions for Dental School

July 2005

The sun shined down April 22 on 80 golfers who teed up to support the Dental School. "We couldn’t have asked for better weather," said Kenneth Kalkwarf, D.D.S., Dental School dean. It was a picture-perfect day for the school’s 35th Anniversary Golf Tournament at the Quarry Golf Club.
The Dental School initiated some exciting new traditions with a "bang" when James Bauerle, D.D.S., fired his 12-gauge to launch the tournament’s shotgun start. Dr. Bauerle, a San Antonio oral and maxillofacial surgeon, Dental School Advisory Council member and a former University of Texas System regent, is longtime supporter of the Dental School. The tournament was the beginning of what will be an annual event for the Dental School.

Health Science Center staff, students, community leaders, donors and special guests participated as teams who raised more than $5,000 for Dental School scholarships. In addition to golfing, an auction raised $2,000 for scholarships.
Tournament Champions
(L-R) Barry Holleron, D.D.S., and Steven Payne, D.D.S., clinical professors of restorative dentistry, join Carlos Freymann III, D.D.S., a 1996 Dental School alumnus, and Samuel Charles Giesey Jr., clinical professor of restorative dentistry in receiving their Tournament Champion plaques.

Another new tradition – "The Last Man Standing Scholarship Endowment" – was initiated at the tournament. During a special ceremony, tournament committee members Spencer Redding, D.D.S., Joe Berrong, D.D.S., Bill Dodge, D.D.S., Tom Watkins, D.D.S., and Ray Dent unveiled The Last Man Standing plaque, which features individual brass nameplates for each of this year’s inaugural tournament players.

On the course
(L-R) Birgit Glass, D.D.S., associate dean for academic affairs in the Dental School; Scott Downlearn, the Dental School’s 2005 senior class president and a recent graduate; Bill Dodge, D.D.S., vice dean for the Dental School; and Dean Kalkwarf enjoy a day on the course.

Dent, director of development for the Dental School, explained to the crowd the new tradition of the plaque.

"Each year this scholarship endowment will grow. We will bring this plaque to the tournament every year," he said. "Whenever one of the original 80 players misses a tournament his or her nameplate will be turned upside down. Eventually, only one name will remain – the name of the person who has played in every single tournament, without missing one. When that happens, the name of the scholarship endowment will be renamed for that individual, who will be known as The Last Man Standing."

Dean Kalkwarf applauded the announcement and thanked everyone at the tournament for their support.

"It is exciting to see alumni and friends come together, have fun and generate so much support to educate the next generation of graduates," he said. "We look forward to seeing our supporters return next year to what promises to be an even bigger and better event."


More stories:

Read current stories



Previous Issues

Current Issue (PDF)


Email us

HSC News

Make a Gift

University Home

UT Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

© 2002 - 2015 UTHSCSA
Office of Communications
All rights reserved.

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Updated 12/11/14