Mission magazine banner

Urology researchers honored at AUA meeting

July 2005

Ian M. Thompson Jr., M.D. and Javier Hernandez, M.D.
Drs. Thompson and Hernandez were honored at an AUA meeting.
Department of urology researchers were among those recognized with a CapCURE Award at an American Urological Association (AUA) meeting for their study of high-grade tumors found in men who participated in the Prostate Cancer Prevention Trial (PCPT). The study was conducted with collaborators at the University of Colorado and several other institutions.

At the AUA meeting, Ian M. Thompson Jr., M.D., professor and chairman of the department of urology and holder of the Health Science Centerís Henry B. and Edna Smith Dielmann Memorial Chair, presented results of a clinical trial of adjuvant radiotherapy for prostate cancer. The study, begun 17 years ago, is now complete and shows that radiation therapy given to high-risk men after surgery reduces risk of cancer recurrence by 50 percent.

Javier Hernandez, M.D., of the department of urology, presented the results of the first study to recognize the association of body mass index and PSA levels, a study that shows that among obese men, lower PSA levels may mask cancer detection. He also discussed the results of a study of a genetic marker that is associated with increased risk of prostate cancer among African-American men.


More stories:

Read current stories



Previous Issues

Current Issue (PDF)


Email us

HSC News

Make a Gift

University Home

UT Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

© 2002 - 2015 UTHSCSA
Office of Communications
All rights reserved.

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Updated 12/11/14