Mission magazine banner

Appointments and Awards

July 2005

Bettie Sue Masters, Ph.D., D.Sc., M.D. (Hon.)

Bettie Sue Masters, Ph.D., D.Sc., M.D. (Hon.)
Robert A. Welch Distinguished Professor in Chemistry

Dr. Masters was awarded an honorary doctorate in medical sciences from Charles University in Prague, the oldest and most prestigious Czech university. Founded in 1348, it is one of the 12 oldest universities in the world.

As the recipient of the Doctorate Honoris Causae, Dr. Masters joins an elite group of Nobel Laureates and former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright.

Dr. Masters’ research focuses on determining the structure and function of the nitric oxide synthases, which produce nitric oxide in various organs for mediation of neural signaling, dilation of blood vessels, or killing of foreign cells such as tumors and bacterial or fungal agents. She was honored for her scientific contributions to the nitric oxide synthases field.

Dr. Masters has been involved in activities in Prague, such as educating and training scientists as well as scientific interchange, for the past 10 years, and co-organized an international meeting in Prague in 2002. Through her colleague, Pavel Martásek, M.D., Ph.D., adjunct professor of biochemistry at the Health Science Center and professor of pediatrics and medicine at Charles University, she has assisted the Czech Republic in learning the American systems of peer review and recognition of scientific achievement. The Czech Republic has established its own systems based on the U.S. model.

Sharon B. Murphy, M.D.
Director of the Children’s Cancer Research Institute

The American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) honored Dr. Murphy with the 2005 Distinguished Service Award for Scientific Leadership. Dr. Murphy is only the fourth person to receive this prestigious award, which was established to honor the career and achievements of individuals who, through a blend of outstanding leadership skills and groundbreaking scientific vision, have transformed the practice and profession of oncology. She was recognized for her more than 30 years of contributions to the field of oncology.

ASCO has 21,500 members from more than 100 countries. The members set the standard for patient care worldwide and lead the fight for more effective cancer treatments, increased funding for research, and cures for the many different cancers that strike millions of people around the world.

Sharon B. Murphy, M.D.
Holly Van Remmen, Ph.D.

Holly Van Remmen, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Cellular and Structural Biology

Dr. Van Remmen was named president-elect of the American Aging Association (AGE) at the organization’s 34th Annual Meeting June 6 in Oakland, Calif. She will organize the June 2007 meeting currently set to take place in San Antonio.

Dr. Van Remmen, also a research health scientist with the South Texas Veterans Health Care System, has served as a scientific member of the AGE Board of Directors.

Dr. Van Remmen, a member of the Health Science Center’s Sam and Ann Barshop Institute for Longevity and Aging Studies, received another prestigious honor recently: selection as co-chair of a Gordon Research Conference on Oxidative Stress and Disease to be held in 2009.


More stories:

Read current stories



Previous Issues

Current Issue (PDF)


Email us

HSC News

Make a Gift

University Home

UT Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

© 2002 - 2015 UTHSCSA
Office of Communications
All rights reserved.

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Updated 12/11/14