Mission magazine banner

Appointments & Awards

May 2005

John Calhoon, M.D.

National Kidney Foundation honors Calhoon, Nichols

John Calhoon, M.D., head of the division of thoracic surgery, the J. Kent Trinkle Distinguished Professor and the Calhoon President’s Council Chair for Excellence in Surgery, and LaRhea Nichols, M.S.N., R.N., assistant professor of surgery, earned the Kathryn Dial Murray "Gift of Life" Award from the National Kidney Foundation of South and Central Texas. They were honored along with Terrance Fried, M.D., president of the San Antonio Kidney Disease Center, for their tireless efforts to increase public awareness of transplantation.

"Part of the National Kidney Foundation’s mission is encouraging transplants of all organs and assisting families," said Marolyn Stubblefield, president and CEO of the National Kidney Foundation of South and Central Texas. "It is Dr. Calhoon’s great advancement of pediatric heart transplants in our region that prompted us to honor him."

Nichols is the senior administrator of the Transplant Center at the Health Science Center and University Health System. "LaRhea has been one of the major driving forces in renal transplantation and other organ transplantation in San Antonio for almost 20 years," said Glenn Halff, M.D., professor of surgery and director of organ transplantation. "She ran the program during a time when there was no renal transplant surgeon. She then led the transplant program to grow to be one of the largest programs in the state."

LaRhea Nichols, M.S.N., R.N.
Anne Leonard, R.N., M.P.H.

Leonard appointed to state task force

Anne Leonard, R.N., M.P.H., research nurse in the division of neurology at the UTHSC and the Audie L. Murphy Division of the South Texas Veterans Health Care System, was named to the Statewide Stroke Task Force for the American Heart Association (AHA) and American Stroke Association of Texas. The task force is responsible for developing and implementing a comprehensive plan to promote awareness regarding the signs and symptoms of stroke. Since stroke is the No. 3 killer in the United States, the task force is focused on implementing training and emergency protocols that will strengthen the care that stroke patients receive. Leonard is also a member of the AHA’s Stroke Council Leadership Committee, one of the AHA’s nine national councils.


More stories:

Read current stories



Previous Issues

Current Issue (PDF)


Email us

HSC News

Make a Gift

University Home

UT Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

© 2002 - 2015 UTHSCSA
Office of Communications
All rights reserved.

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Updated 12/11/14