Mission magazine banner

Partnership protects trauma resources, enhances military preparedness

August 2004

Francisco G. Cigarroa, M.D., Health Science Center president, and the leaders of institutions operating San Antonioís three Level I trauma centers recently announced the formation of the Trauma Institute of San Antonio, Texas (TRISAT), an innovative and intensive project to more effectively marshal the regionís Level I trauma resources.

According to guidelines from the American College of Surgeons, a Level I trauma center provides comprehensive trauma care, serves as a regional resource, and provides leadership in education, research and system planning. A Level I center is required to have immediate availability of trauma surgeons, anesthesiologists, physician specialists, nurses and resuscitation equipment. Texas has 12 Level I centers.

University Hospital, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Brooke Army Medical Center receive the most seriously injured patients from 71 emergency medical services (EMS) agencies and 30 hospitals located in a 22-county region of South/Central Texas. Wilford Hall Medical Center and Brooke Army Medical Center operate the only Level I trauma centers in the U.S. Department of Defense. As such, the military depends on them to train thousands of physicians for trauma service readiness during wartime.


More stories:

Read current stories



Previous Issues

Current Issue (PDF)


Email us

HSC News

Make a Gift

University Home

UT Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

© 2002 - 2015 UTHSCSA
Office of Communications
All rights reserved.

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Updated 12/11/14