Mission magazine banner

The 2004 Presidential Awards
Honoring excellence at the Health Science Center

May 2004

Each year, the Health Science Center recognizes, with the Presidential Awards, 16 faculty and staff members who are shining examples of excellence in their offices, labs, clinics and classrooms. Their dedication and leadership provide the groundwork for future generations of scientists and health care providers. Their hard work leads to improvements in the health care of the people of our region.

Brian Herman, Ph.D., professor and chairman of cellular and structural biology, received this yearís highest honor –- the 2004 Presidential Distinguished Scholar Award. Dr. Hermanís contributions to scientistsí understanding of apoptosis, or cell "suicide," has had major implications in the fields of aging, heart disease, cancer and neurodegenerative disorders.

Dr. Herman is chair of the Health Science Centerís Executive Research Committee and is principal investigator of grants totaling more than $8 million. He is the recipient of a prestigious National Institutes of Health MERIT Award, which provides long-term stable support to investigators whose research competence and productivity are distinctly superior and who are likely to continue to perform in an outstanding manner. It is an honor bestowed on only the top
1 percent of scientists in the nation.
Dr. Herman

Fifteen other Health Science Center faculty and staff members were honored with excellence awards. They are:

Presidential Junior Research Scholar Award
Paula K. Shireman, M.D.

Presidential Clinical Excellence Award
John H. Calhoon, M.D.
Natalie S. Callander, M.D.
Ronald M. Stewart, M.D.

Presidential Teaching Excellence Award
Robert Esterl Jr., M.D.
John C. King, M.D.
Linda Y. Johnson, Ph.D.
Elizabeth Reifsnider, Ph.D.,

Presidential Employee Excellence in Service Award
Natalie A. Gutierrez
Gerard E. Long
Andrťa Longoria
M. Corinne Price
David C. Rupert

Special Award for Heroism
Joe Sauceda
M. Randy Parchman


More stories:

Read current stories



Previous Issues

Current Issue (PDF)


Email us

HSC News

Make a Gift

University Home

UT Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

© 2002 - 2015 UTHSCSA
Office of Communications
All rights reserved.

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Updated 12/11/14