Mission magazine banner

President reappoints Cigarroa to national committee

May 2004

Francisco G. Cigarroa, M.D., Health Science Center president, has been reappointed by President George W. Bush to be a member of the Presidentís Committee on the National Medal of Science.

Congress created the National Medal of Science in 1959 as a Presidential Award to be given to individuals "deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical or engineering sciences." In 1980 the award was expanded to include the social and behavioral sciences.

The president appoints 12 of the nationís most prominent leaders in the
fields of research, science and engineering to evaluate award nominees.


More stories:

Read current stories



Previous Issues

Current Issue (PDF)


Email us

HSC News

Make a Gift

University Home

UT Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

© 2002 - 2015 UTHSCSA
Office of Communications
All rights reserved.

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Updated 12/11/14