The Mission banner
Mission Home

Press Releases

The News

Mission Archives


University Homepage

Contact Us

7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, Texas

To learn more about the Health Science Center:

School of Medicine

School of Nursing

Dental School

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

School of Allied Health Sciences

E-Subscription onlineClick here to E-subscribe

© 2002 UTHSCSA
All rights reserved.

Updated 6/20/02

Links provided from UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

Health Science Center appoints new department chairs

Mary "Kelly" Dunn, Ph.D.

Mary "Kelly" Dunn, Ph.D.
Department of Chronic Nursing Care

The department of chronic nursing care has a renewed commitment to expansion and community service under its new chair, Mary "Kelly" Dunn, Ph.D. "My overarching goal is to lend some stability and focus on establishing our direction for the future, "Dr. Dunn said. "I have been amazed by the tireless efforts of faculty to develop a departmental esprit de corps."

Gerald Dodd III, M.D.

Gerald Dodd III, M.D.
Department of Radiology

As the chairman of the department of radiology, Gerald Dodd III, M.D., hopes to expand the radiology clinical enterprise at the Health Science Center. Dr. Dodd says his primary goals are to facilitate the growth of his faculty, to increase the integration of radiology into the Medical School curriculum and to expand the research initiatives within the department.

Lily Garcia, D.D.S., M.S.

Lily Garcia, D.D.S., M.S.
Department of Prosthodontics

Lily Garcia, D.D.S., M.S., a graduate of the Health Science Center, is serving as chair of prosthodontics in the Dental School. "The department of prosthodontics at the Health Science Center is recognized as one of the premier groups of prosthodontics in the country. To become chair of this department is a unique opportunity and privilege," Dr. Garcia said.

Carlos Roberto Jaén, M.D.

Carlos Roberto Jaén, M.D.
Department of Family and Community Medicine

Carlos Roberto Jaén, M.D., a family practitioner with an avid interest in preventive medicine and Latino health care, has been appointed chairman of the department of family and community medicine. "My commitment is not only to San Antonio, but to the South Texas region," Dr. Jaén said. "I work for the entire region. I just happen to have an office in San Antonio."

Colleen Keller, Ph.D.

Colleen Keller, Ph.D.
Department of Family Nursing Care

With more than 18 years of critical care nursing experience, Colleen Keller, Ph.D., becomes the new chair of the department of family nursing care. "I think I can contribute to the department by exploring ways to provide adequate and appropriate resources for faculty to continue their teaching and practice excellence, and to pursue their research trajectories," Dr. Keller said.

Randal Otto, M.D.

Randal Otto, M.D.
Department of Otolaryngology

Randal Otto, M.D., has been appointed as the new chair of the otolaryngology department. Dr. Otto, who has been with the Health Science Center for 12 years, served as interim chair of the department since 1999. Dr. Otto said his goal is to enhance the otolaryngology program at the Health Science Center so that it is among the top 15 percent of programs of its kind.

Ronald Williams, M.D., Ph.D.

Ronald Williams, M.D., Ph.D.
Department of Orthopaedics

After serving as interim chair since 1999, Ronald Williams, M.D., Ph.D., officially became chairman of the orthopaedics department. Dr. Williams said he wants to upgrade resident and medical student education, add more faculty, expand the department's ability to develop tertiary care practice, increase funds for research and increase support of the University Health System trauma unit.

Next article>>