News release

News Release Archive

Office of External Affairs

Mission magazine

Vital Signs

University page

National Medical Association honors S.A. addiction researcher

The National Medical Association (NMA) has selected Bankole A. Johnson, M.D., Ph.D., of The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio as its 2002 Senior Scholar of Distinction.

Dr. Johnson, an internationally known authority on development of medications for treating early onset alcoholism, will be recognized Aug. 7 in Honolulu, Hawaii. The award and cash honorarium, bestowed by the NMA's psychiatry and behavioral sciences section, are made available through a grant from Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.

Dr. Johnson will present the NMA Distinguished Senior Clinical Scholar Lecture. He is the Wurzbach Distinguished Professor at the Health Science Center, professor of psychiatry and pharmacology, deputy chairman for research and chief of the alcohol and drug addiction division in the department of psychiatry, and director of the university's Southwest Texas Addiction Research and Technology Center (START).

Contacts: Will Sansom

Aileen Salinas