News release

News Release Archive

Office of External Affairs

Mission magazine

Vital Signs

University page

Medical associate dean named Piper Professor (4/29/98)

C. Nanette Clare, MD, associate dean for academic affairs at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, has been honored for excellence in teaching by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation of San Antonio as a 1998 Piper Professor.

The foundation honors teachers annually who have had a special impact on their students and the community.

On May 1, John P. Howe, III, MD, president of the Health Science Center, will present Dr. Clare with a certificate, a gold pen and an honorarium to commemorate the event.

"What a well deserved honor!" said Dr. Howe. "Dr. Clare has been, and continues to be, a wonderful role model for students and faculty alike, as she shares her superb teaching skills with our Health Science Center family. The foundation and its board were wise in their decision for her!"

James J. Young, PhD, Medical School dean, said, "Dr. Clare brings to her tasks a deep commitment to students; exceptional academic skills; the respect and recognition of her colleagues; a profound understanding of the roles, challenges and needs of the faculty; and an abounding enthusiasm for implementing and leading our curriculum change."

Dr. Clare said, "I am honored to receive this award and feel truly humbled to be considered among the outstanding faculty at this institution who have previously been named Piper Professor."

Dr. Clare has also been named the 1998 Distinguished Medical Alumnus by the Health Science Center's Medical Alumni Association. The associate dean will be given her award during the upcoming spring Medical School graduation ceremony.

A 1975 Health Science Center Medical School graduate, Dr. Clare completed an internship in pathology in 1976 and a residency in pathology in 1979, both at University Hospital then Bexar County Hospital). She has been a staff pathologist of the South Texas Veterans Health Care System since 1980; is a professor in the department of pathology and is director of the medical students' second-year pathology course.

Dr. Clare has many outstanding awards and honors to her credit including 14 Outstanding Professor Awards, bestowed by the 1983 and 1985-1997 graduating Medical School classes. She was Assistant Marshall during graduation ceremonies for the 1986-1994 graduating Medical School classes and was given the Presidential Award for Teaching Excellence in 1985 and 1996; and the Gold Award for Educational Exhibit by the American Society of Clinical Pathology in 1981.

The new Piper Professor was previous co-director and director of the pathology department's bone marrow cytogenetics laboratory and was director of the Health Science Center's pathology residency training program from 1986 to 1991. Dr. Clare is also chair of the pathology test development committee for the United States Medical Licensing Exam (USMLE) and a member of the USMLE Step 1 committee.

Other Health Science Center faculty members who have been named Piper Professors are Carlos Pestana, MD, PhD, retired associate dean for academic affairs of the Medical School (1972); John W. Preece, DDS, associate dean of the School of Allied Health Sciences (1978); Robert W. Huff, MD, professor and deputy chairman of obstetrics and gynecology (1980); Terry M. Mikiten, PhD, associate dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (1985); Joyce G. Schwartz, MD, retired associate professor, pathology (1992); and Linda Y. Johnson, PhD, associate professor, cellular and structural biology (1995).

Now in its fifth decade, The Piper Foundation also has a student loan program and supports charitable, scientific and educational undertakings, and non-profit organizations and activities dedicated to the general welfare of the people of San Antonio and South Texas.

Contact: Jan Elkins (210) 567-2570