News release

News Release Archive

Office of External Affairs

Mission magazine

Vital Signs

University page

UTHSC recognizes Naylor as Distinguished Scholar

Susan L. Naylor, Ph.D., professor of cellular and structural biology, received the Presidential Distinguished Scholar Award today at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSC). The award is the university's highest and recognizes significant contributions to scientific literature and health advancement.

Dr. Naylor co-authored one of the landmark scientific papers of all time, "A Physical Map of the Human Genome," which appeared last February in the prestigious journal Nature. She was a key member of the multi-institutional team that mapped Chromosome 3, which has been linked to lung, kidney, ovarian, uterine, testicular, and head and neck cancer.

Francisco G. Cigarroa, M.D., president of the Health Science Center, presented several awards to UTHSC faculty. "Today's awards characterize the very heart of this institution — first-class teaching, innovative research, quality patient care and the finest standards of professionalism," he said.

The other honorees and their departments are:

  • Presidential Junior Research Scholar Award: Seema Ahuja, M.D., medicine; Karl Klose, Ph.D., microbiology
  • Presidential Clinical Excellence Award: Donald Currie, M.D., rehabilitation medicine; Anastacio Hoyumpa, M.D., medicine; Lynda Wells, M.D., anesthesiology
  • Presidential Teaching Excellence Award: Robert Dale, D.D.S., general dentistry; Mary Heye, Ph.D., R.N., acute nursing care; Terry LeGrand, Ph.D., respiratory care; Kimatha Oxford, M.O.T., O.T.R., C.H.T., occupational therapy; Karen Troendle, D.D.S., M.P.H., restorative dentistry; Patricia Wathen, M.D., medicine President Cigarroa also introduced new faculty members at UTHSC.

Contact: Will Sansom or Aileen Salinas