News release

News Release Archive

Office of External Affairs

Mission magazine

Vital Signs

University page

Accrediting body praises UTHSC School of Medicine, renews accreditation

San Antonio (July 24, 2003) — The School of Medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSC) has been awarded continued accreditation for a full eight-year period — the maximum period allowed — by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME). The announcement followed a comprehensive survey by the LCME of the school last February.

In its report, the LCME stated that "The faculty of the school maintains an impressive commitment to the school's missions in an environment where academic values are increasingly challenged by competing productivity demands." The report also commented on the success of the School of Medicine in achieving diversity among the student body, and the students' performance and "growing satisfaction" with the educational program.

The LCME issued special commendations to Steven A. Wartman, M.D., Ph.D., executive vice president for academic and health affairs and dean of the School of Medicine, and Nan Clare, M.D., professor of pathology, who holds two positions in the School of Medicine — senior associate dean and associate dean for academic affairs.

In its report to UTHSC President Francisco G. Cigarroa, M.D., the LCME wrote:

"In his tenure as dean and executive vice president for academic and health affairs, Dr. Steven Wartman has improved the medical school's relationships within the academic and health care communities, promoted more effective communication and operations within the school, and established an institutional culture rooted in excellence and professionalism."

About Dr. Clare, the LCME noted:

"The efforts and commitment of senior associate dean and associate dean for academic affairs, Dr. Nanette Clare, have resulted in substantial improvements in curriculum management and have earned her a reputation among medical students as a highly valued source of academic and personal support."

Dr. Cigarroa praised the faculty and staff of the School of Medicine for the outstanding review. "I am so proud of our team and yet not at all surprised," he said. "Our faculty are among the best in the nation and the staff who support them are equally outstanding. The real beneficiaries of our commitment to excellence are the students and the patients they will one day be serving."

Contact: Will Sansom or Natalie Gutierrez