News release

News Release Archive

Office of External Affairs

Mission magazine

Vital Signs

University page

New medical department created (3-22-00)

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio has added a 13th department to its Medical School.

The Department of Radiation Oncology, chaired by Terence S. Herman, M.D., includes seven Ph.D. faculty, four M.D. attending physicians and six residents. The clinical portion of the department is located at the Burton and Miriam Grossman Cancer Center, part of the Cancer Therapy & Research Center (CTRC). The Grossman Cancer Center is located at 7979 Wurzbach in the South Texas Medical Center.

Department of Radiation Oncology clinical staff members are involved in various research projects, including determining which anti-cancer drugs and other agents can best be used in conjunction with radiation treatment. Researchers also are investigating new initiatives in treating brain tumors and are studying drugs, such as melatonin, that can protect against radiation damage to normal tissues. Ultra-precise radiation dose delivery is another study area.

The Medical School’s other departments are in the fields of anesthesiology, family practice, medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopaedics, otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, pediatrics, psychiatry, radiology, rehabilitation medicine and surgery. Each department includes divisions related to a wide variety of subspecialties, such as oncology, hematology, neurosurgery and pediatric genetics to name a few.

Contact: Will Sansom or Heather Feldman