News release

News Release Archive

Office of External Affairs

Mission magazine

Vital Signs

University page

Nearly 300 training for Ph.D. at UT Health Science Center

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSCSA) is effectively countering the "brain drain" in America — the lack of scientific knowledge among U.S. citizens.

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at UTHSCSA is training nearly 300 Ph.D. candidates — one of the largest doctoral enrollments in the history of the Health Science Center. The enrollment is 287, an increase of 59 students from last fall. Figures were announced Aug. 16 at the school's fall convocation.

UTHSCSA offers the doctor of philosophy degree in eight fields — biochemistry, cellular and structural biology, microbiology, molecular medicine, pharmacology, physiology, radiological sciences and nursing. The largest enrollments are in molecular medicine, 50; radiological sciences, 47; and microbiology, 42.

An additional 93 students are taking courses leading to master's degrees, including 12 students in the new master of science in clinical investigation program, which will educate junior scientists about the complexities of research training involving human volunteers. Students in special programs of study boost the total Graduate School enrollment to 446.

The incoming class of 130 students includes 81 women and 49 men. Countering the brain drain, 90 are domestic students.

Merle S. Olson, Ph.D., dean of the Graduate School, awarded the Armand J. Guarino Award for Academic Excellence in Doctoral Studies to Luis G. Brieba, who completed his Ph.D. in biochemistry at UTHSCSA and is a post-doctoral fellow at Harvard Medical School. The Guarino Award for Excellence in Master of Science Studies went to Christine L. Gear, who received her M.S. in cellular and structural biology and is a UTHSCSA medical student.

Gear is a Hondo native. The awards are named in honor of Dr. Guarino, first dean of the Graduate School from 1972 to 1986. This year marks the Graduate School's 30th anniversary.

Contact: Will Sansom