News release

News Release Archive

Office of External Affairs

Mission magazine

Vital Signs

University page

Geurink, Thornhill appointed to elite dental leadership program

San Antonio (Sept. 17, 2003) — Kathy Geurink, MA, associate professor of dental hygiene at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, and Martin Thornhill, MBBS, BDS, MSc, PhD, professor and chair of dental diagnostic science, have been named fellows of the American Dental Education Association (ADEA) Leadership Institute for 2003-2004.

The ADEA Leadership Institute is a yearlong program offered to the nation's most promising dental faculty. Participants include faculty and administrators from dental, allied dental and advanced dental education. The Leadership Institute includes self- and peer assessment, in-depth leadership development, team building, and exploration of legislative and public policy issues critical to dental and higher education.

The Health Science Center was accorded the rare privilege of having two fellows in the same year; a maximum of only 21 fellows are selected annually from more than 65 dental schools in North America. Previous ADEA Leadership Institute fellows from the Health Science Center include D. Denee Thomas, PhD, associate professor of periodontics and microbiology and associate dean for student affairs in the Dental School, 2000-2001; and Gary Guest, DDS, professor of dental diagnostic science and director of dental predoctoral clinics, 1999-2000.

Contact: Will Sansom